Radio Shows

Highlight of Episode 111 of the SERVICOM Help Desk Radio Programme

The Episode 111 of the SERVICOM help desk Radio programme held on the 25th of February 2020 and  had as it guest the Securities and Exchange Commission, (SEC). The National Coordinator /Chief Executive of SERVICOM, Mrs Nnenna Akajemeli in company of the Public Awareness Manager, Mrs Henrietta Okokon and Mr Tony Ochelebe appreciated the Ordinary President and Brekete family for the opportunity given to SERVICOM office.

The representatives of Securities and Exchange Commission, Mrs Ogar Agatha, SERVICOM Nodal Officer and Dr. Timi Agama, HOD, Registration, exchanges and Marketing Information Department took time to inform the public what they do. Dr.Agama said, the investment and securities act 2007 empowers them and section 13 A of the law states that only Securities and Exchange Commission has the power to regulate securities and investment in Nigeria.

‘’For you to do securities and investment business in Nigeria, you must get permission from Securities and Exchange Commission’’, Mr Agama said.  He further stated that if someone doesn’t register the products or business with SEC it may not be correct. When a group of people tells you they will give you a higher percentage after certain period, it’s a red flag and calls for suspicion, it may be a Ponzi or Pyramid scheme.

For you to ask for money from more than 50 people, you must register with Securities and Exchange Commission, Dr Agama said.  There are genuine businesses in Nigeria registered by SEC like Mutual funds or collective investment scheme which professional investors we know will do for you and if they fail, we will arrest and prosecute them,  Dr. Agama  therefore  advised citizens to be careful. You can reach us through this medium he said 094621168, sec@sec.gov.ng .

The National Coordinator intimated  Elder Emma Okoro  that, it’s the issues he raised that is making SERVICOM office  bring Ministries Department and Agencies (MDA’s) to come and tell vulnerable Nigerians what they don’t know and to help the process work better for all of us. The National Coordinator thanked the Ordinary President and told him the congratulatory Anniversary letter SERVICOM wrote is from our heart and how we feel because of the support he has given so far, she added that most Nigerians have become more conscious of service delivery in MDA’s now.

Highlight of Episode 110 of the SERVICOM Help Desk Radio Programme

The Episode 110 of the SERVICOM help desk Radio programme held on the 18th of February 2020. The National Coordinator/Chief Executive of SERVICOM, Mrs Nnenna Akajemeli appreciated the Ordinary President and the Brekete Family and said they are happy to be in the studio. She thanked those rendering services and said those struggling with services should improve. She thanked those bringing positive energy to service delivery.

The Public Awareness Manager, Mrs Henrietta Okokon spoke on Communication Strategies for SERVICOM Office, “one of our mandates is to heighten citizens’ awareness on quality service delivery in Nigeria. The aim of this strategy is to engage Nigerians across board, we want to ensure we render citizens-centred service delivery to Nigerians and foster a robust collaboration with the Media and the public in other to correct systemic failure in our society”, she said.

She stated that part of SERVICOM’s strategy is the use of Social Media platforms; “our Facebook is now more interactive, we now stream our events live when the National Coordinator attends any function.  We have our Twitter handle, Instagram and our official website. These platforms will engage citizens and strengthen synergy between SERVICOM and it public. We have bulk SMS’s that we send out as at when due for information dissemination so as to get feedbacks for easy reach”.

She further stated that SERVICOM also monitors news and reviews daily Media to see where services have failed and engages Team Leaders to look into the issue and come up with strategies for intervention. “This is how we can curb service failure in Nigeria”. She ended by saying that SERVICOM Office also makes use of the conventional media such as the Brekete Family Radio Programme that has given the office a wider reach, hence making people to commend the National Coordinator and SERVICOM Office for a job well done on this platform and she appreciated the Family.

Mrs. Henrietta intimated her listeners that the National Coordinator will be having special media appearances whenever the office is to have major programmes, events or functions, she will inform Nigerians even through the Brekete Family of upcoming events then give progress reports and updates on success stories of the office. She added that plans are on ground to visit our various MDA’s and use this medium to appeal to them not to be afraid when they are invited to Brekete Family programme; she said the aim of SERVICOM Help Desk Programme is to help them showcase their products and tell Nigerians the kind of services they render.

The visits, Mrs. Henrietta said will create synergy between SERVICOM and MDA’s and serve as a check on their level of compliance to Service Charter by the CEO’s and check their conformity with service excellence, integrity, accountability, efficiency and commitment to service delivery. She added that SERVICOM will be producing Jingles in different Nigerian languages and this will give us wider reach to the grassroots and to create awareness on our mandate for citizens to know their right to demand for quality service.

We will be doing road shows and having town hall meetings in order for people to tell us where services have failed so as to reach out to the MDA’s concerned and brings quality services to them. She read out SERVICOM’s social Media handles and Phone numbers in order to help Citizens reach out to the office.

The National Coordinator responded to the issue of dirty Toilets in the Federal Secretariat and said it has been captured in the 2020 budget and will be fixed as soon as releases start. She stated that SERVICOM will be going round the Federal Secretariat with the Director, Federal Capital Territory Administration’s (FCTA’s) SERVICOM’s Nodal Officer to remove non-functional Wall Clocks.

On the issue of broken down chairs and tables in offices, the National Coordinator said it is a call to do the simple things by removing all broken chairs and tables and, these are quick fixes. She promised to engage with FCTA to make sure all issues concerning the Federal Secretariat is taken care of.

Mr Tony Ochelebe appealed to complainant not to buy recharge cards for staff of the SERVICOM Office before their complaint is treated. The National Coordinator added that all services have been paid for; hence people should not tempt the staff of SERVICOM. Mr Tony gave feedbacks on some complaints resolved by SERVICOM such as the case of Mr Saidu, who was mishandled by  the Nigerian immigration Service, Katsina Command,   Mr Okeke  who complained of delays by Michael Okpara University Umudike in  sending his wife’s transcript to the University of Nigeria and Mr Matthew who complained of none payment of monthly pension by PTAD.

The National Coordinator further talked about flight delays and said she will be engaging with NCAA and FAAN in a retreat to bring a lasting solution to it. She advised citizens that if complaints are unresolved, they should be escalated to SERVICOM so that the phone calls the office gets will not only be complaints but commendations and feedbacks

 

 

 

 

 

Highlight of Episode 109 of the SERVICOM Help Desk Radio Programme

The Episode 109 of the SERVICOM help desk Radio programme held on the 11TH of February 2020. The National Coordinator /Chief Executive of SERVICOM, Mrs Nnenna  Akajemeli, accompanied by Mrs Henrietta Okokon, the Public Awareness Manager and Mr Tony Ochelebe  said the service providers should do well and the service takers should not walk away, they should engage.

She appreciated the Ordinary President and Complete Package and said we do not take this partnership for granted. She appreciated those supporting SERVICOM and bringing feedbacks.

The NC said she was encouraged by the service Dr. RUZU got and said everybody should try giving good service because it is for the good of all; she added that if you like better service, you too should give better service. What goes round comes round, as a Doctor or Nurse; give good service so that when you go for school activities of your children you will equally be treated well, she added.

 

 

 

Highlight of Episode 108 of the SERVICOM Help Desk Radio Programme

The Episode 108 of the SERVICOM help desk Radio programme held on the 4th of February 2020, The National Coordinator /Chief Executive of SERVICOM, Mrs Nnenna Akajemeli, appreciated the Ordinary President and the Brekete family and said we are not taking this platform for granted and we will continue to partner with them. We thank all the MDA’s that have been responding to us.

The NC said service delivery is an equation that has two sides; we have people that provide the service and those that take the service. MDA’s provide services because government set them up to do that, we the service takers have been empowered by the constitution to take service, when this engagement occurs, governance will happen and lives we be touched and services will served the people when we do it well.

The Public Awareness Manager, Mrs Henrietta Okokon talk about SERVICOM communication strategy for citizens engagement, as part of our mandate, we have heightened citizens awareness to tell them that they have right to quality services in Nigeria and SERVICOM has come up with communication strategies that will engage Nigerians across board with you are Nigeria or in the diaspora, we have strategy that we want to engage you people with

SERVICOM has reject, redirect and refocus to ensure that Nigerian’s received prompt and efficient services, she said.  Our first strategy is the use of Social Media platforms such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and our official website. She was however asked to come back next week by the Ordinary President due to time constraint.

 

 

Highlight of Episode 107 of the SERVICOM Help Desk Radio Programme

The Episode 107 of the SERVICOM help desk Radio programme had as it guest the representative of Department of Petroleum Resources (DPR). The National Coordinator /Chief Executive of SERVICOM, Mrs Nnenna Akajemeli, accompanied by Mrs Henrietta and Mr Tony were in the studio the second day of the programme. The NC appreciated the Ordinary President and the Brekete family.

Mr Babatunda olaleyun  in the  basinal assessment and lease administration section (BALA)  said for any one coming from outside the country to do business, we have up stream, downstream and midstream. Before you can drill oil in Nigeria you need to have an oil block, it’s about 1,295 kilometers which sometimes cuts across states. For you to have an oil well you must have an oil block. Oil block is awarded during lice sensing round by the government and if you bid and win, you will be given an oil block. The last announcement for oil block was in year 2007 which is at the prerogative of the President.

Mr Preye Alagoa in the Upstream division said his division handles the inside and outside of petroleum   activities. Once oil is discovered in or outside the shore, we will license the companies that will produce it. We call them to account annually. Engineer Husani Basaka of the engineering and standard division said they look into the equipment and standard of the companies operating the process to avoid explosions. We monitor it on paper and on the field of operation.

Mr Balogun Abdulafiz in the health, safety and environment (HSE) division said their duty is to protect the people working there and the environment. We make sure the equipment brought in those not kill anybody and works according to design and specifications. We also look out for the interest of the host communities, In case they have any complaint, we attend to it and make the Community happy, if they fail we deal with them.

Mr Ibrahim Isah in retail outlet, downstream division said their job is to monitor fueling  stations and we have to license them before they start operating after meeting some requirement before coming. We also consider land suitability and if it meets our requirement before they start construction. We go on routine checks to fueling stations, we have offices nationwide, and you can go there, if you have complaints. You can call us on 012790000, and then tell us your location and we will connect you to a nearby office to handle the complaint.

Mrs Adaniyi of the SERVICOM unit said their duty is to give stakeholders services and information, you are to read all terms and conditions in the form online before filling it as their no re-fund after payment because it goes to the TSA. She advised Customers to avoid middle men and come to DPR office if they want to do any business.

 

Highlight of Episode 106 of the SERVICOM Help Desk Radio Programme

The Episode 106 of the SERVICOM help desk Radio programme had as it guest the representative of Department of Petroleum Resources (DPR). The National Coordinator /Chief Executive of SERVICOM, Mrs Nnenna Akajemeli, accompanied by Mrs Henrietta and Mr Tony were in the studio the second day of the programme. The NC appreciated the Ordinary President and the Brekete family.

Mr Babatunda olaleyun in the basinal assessment and lease administration section (BALA) said for any one coming from outside the country to do business, we have up stream, downstream and midstream. Before you can drill oil in Nigeria you need to have an oil block, it’s about 1,295 kilometres which sometimes cuts across states. For you to have an oil well you must have an oil block. Oil block is awarded during lice sensing round by the government and if you bid and win, you will be given an oil block. The last announcement for oil block was in year 2007 which is at the prerogative of the President.

Mr Preye Alagoa in the Upstream division said his division handles the inside and outside of petroleum  activities. Once oil is discovered in or outside the shore, we will license the companies that will produce it. We call them to account annually. Engineer Husani Basaka  of  the engineering and standard division said they look into the equipment and standard of the companies operating  the process to avoid explosions. We monitor it on paper and on the field of operation.

Mr Balogun Abdulafiz in the health, safety and environment (HSE) division said their duty is to protect the people working there and the environment. We make sure the equipment brought in those not kill anybody and works according to design and specifications. We also look out for the interest of the host communities, In case they have any complaint, we attend to it and make the Community happy, if they fail we deal with them.

Mr Ibrahim Isah in retail outlet, downstream division said their job is to monitor fuelling stations and we have to license them before they start operating after meeting some requirement before coming. We also consider land suitability and if it meets our requirement before they start construction. We go on routine checks to fuelling stations, we have offices nationwide, you can go their if you have complaints. You can call us on 012790000, and then tell us your location and we will connect you to a nearby office to handle the complaint.

Mrs Adaniyi of the SERVICOM unit said their duty is to give stakeholders services and information, you are to read all terms and conditions in the form online before filling it as their no re-fund after payment because it goes to the TSA. She advised Customers to avoid middle men and come to DPR office if they want to do any business.

 

 

Highlight of Episode 105 of the SERVICOM Help Desk Radio Programme

The Episode 105 of the SERVICOM help desk Radio programme held on the 21st of January 2020. The National Coordinator /Chief Executive of SERVICOM, Mrs Nnenna  Akajemeli, appreciated the Ordinary President and the  Brekete  family and said there have been good feedback from last week’s  programme and Federal Housing Authority has promised to wprk grey areas highlighted during that will lead to improvement in their services . The Public Awareness Manager, Mrs Henrietta Okokon, Mrs Madinatu  Mohammed  and  Mr Tony were with the NC in the Studio.

Mrs Madinatu  Mohammed,  an Operation Staff in Team D gave a brief talk on how to Challenge Service Failure in MDA’s.  We have a slogan in SERVICOM which says ‘’you have the right to be served right’’ and also to complain about service failure she said. When you are not getting the right service, you complain. We have a grievance redress mechanism which all MDA’s are supposed to use to address service failure.

When the right service is not giving and customers are been interrogated and not allowed to talk, they will complain. Complainants can register their complaint through writing, phone calls, Emails, Physically, post office, complaint Box which is supposed to be checked always to analyse the complaint. Another means is called SERVICOM Customer Relation Activities Register (SCRAR) where you can register your complaint but it is mostly used by MDA’s. When all this avenues are explored without result, you can now come to SERVICOM office, the complaint can be taken up by the National Coordinator.

When a customer comes to complain, you welcome him, pay attention to his complaint and apologies for the service failure then proffer solution because the customer is the King, we need to treat them rightly and we all have to stand up for our right. Mrs Madinatu added that when you are not getting the right services please ask and SERVICOM will be there for you.

The NC said she receive calls from parents that they are sometimes asked to pay for items in schools which are said to be free and receipt will not be issued. Don’t just walk out when you are not satisfied with the  service, engage the service provider so that he will know the government put him there to provide that service, in that way we hold them more accountable and they will know our eyes are on them.

 

 

 

 

Highlight of Episode 104 of the SERVICOM Help Desk Radio Programme

Episode 104 of the SERVICOM help desk Radio programme held on the 14th January  2020 been the first for the new  year  and had Federal Housing Authority (FHA) as the guest , The National Coordinator /Chief Executive SERVICOM, Mrs Nnenna Akajemeli  and the new Public Awareness Manager, Mrs Henrietta Okokon  accompanied by Mr Tony Ochelebe where in the  studio.

The NC appreciated Brekete family, the Ordinary President and everyone in the studio and said the New Year will be better for all of us. We do not take this platform for granted, we will be rendering better services to everybody through the MDA’s and we will improve. We have come with renewed energy and strength and positive mind to surpass what we did last year, the NC added. She appreciated those given better service in the MDA’s and appealed to those not given to begin to render services.

Part of the reasons we come here is to encourage more people to come to the positive side so as to have the majority rendering service that will make our country better. We let out information and provide opportunity to give those rendering service more accountable in MDA’s because we are all entitled to have good services constitutional. We help engage service providers with service takers and the bottom line is to get quality services from early this year, the NC said.

Mrs Sarah Ogiefa, General Manager Property Management, Mr Humphrey Ukeh, Deputy GM, Strategy, SERVICOM and anti-corruption unit and Mrs Joan Nwankwo, Chief SERVICOM officer came as guest and representatives from Federal Housing Authority. Mrs Sarah said FHA was established in 1973 to build houses for all Nigerians in all the state of the federation, we provide infrastructure which is site and services PIN, we allocate and give prototype design for the houses to be in uniform.

The government has empowered us to consider the low income group in the society but have to provide special fund for us to be able to do that for Nigerians, Mrs Sarah said. Thegovernment carters for all strata, the low, middle and high income group in the society. We have put in place big plans for new projects that will come up 2020 in Kwali, Bwari and Zuba which is almost completed and open for Nigerians to buy at reasonable prices, she added.

We also have plans for those in the diasporal, there is a site in Kabusu behind Maitama were we are erecting structures for them. We have projects in other states and 6 Geopolitical Zones of the Federation. Mr Innocent asked why the houses are been sold to the Rich instead of the Poor? Mrs Sarah replied that FHA builds for all income categories; the one inZuba is on sale presently.

For a low income earner to have a house, we have a primary Mortgage bank called FHA Mortgage bankwhere they can open account and startcontribution and be paying little by little, they will give you a loan by paying for your house and the bank will do a repayment package plan for you on how to pay back, Mrs Sarah said.

Barrister Ogor asked if the houses can be given without collateral. Mrs Sarah said it have to be from your salary, when you meet the bank they will tell you how to go about. Mr Hunphery of FHA said when you collect loan bellow 5million you don’t need collatrial based on Federal Mortgage Bank regulations. Mr Edward said he applied for a house in 1994 and paid some money up till date no house. Mrs Sarah said he can apply for a refund with his evidence of payment or choose another House.

Emmanuel Babayaro said he is disappointed with the presentation; FHA should have broken down the process for a common man to understand how to pay 5million for a one bedroom flat. Mrs Olufumiabbas commended FHA and said her parents got their first House through them, the rich are buying many of the houses, how can a common man get it, we need information.

Fatima Idris called in and said ‘’we have been contributing for 20years, our money is deducted from source yet no house’’.  Mrs Sarah, said it is FMBN that should handle that but you can go to any other primary mortgage institution show them you passbook, they will calculate what you have paid and they will help you get the difference. We now have Rent to Own programme in progress, when we are done, people can access it and pay beat by beat.

Mr Hunphry said they have heard what have been said and will do something about it. He said there mandate is to build houses, in 1988 the Government began to commercialise FHA, in 2003 we were removed from the Budget, what you see us do is from our IGR, but four years ago our management pleaded with the National Assembly and we were giving some funds which we used in building in Zuba.

The finally appreciated FHA coming and said all issue and concerns raised will be processed and feedback will be given to the citizens.

 

 

 

 

Highlight of Episode 103 of the SERVICOM Help Desk Radio Programme

Episode 103 of the SERVICOM Help Desk Radio Programme held on the 17th of December 2019 and featured the federal ministry of science and technology. The National Coordinator /Chief Executive Officer of SERVICOM Mrs. Nnenna Akajemeli  thanked the Ordinary President and said from January till now we thank you for your support and your team the way they helped us and also MDA’s. As we prepare to round up the year we brought Ministry of Science and Technology.

Dr. Ekanem Udoh, Director Science and technology promotion said they are so delighted to be recognised and given an award as the best performing MDA in the whole civil service. We are not surprised because if you can to the Ministry by 8:00am you will see almost all officers seated, we start all our activities early even in meetings and monthly sporting activities.

He added that their mission is to be one the brightest stars in science and technology in the world and we are doing this by encouraging young ones to participate in science and technology by going to all the local government in Nigeria and asking them to give their best candidate in science and technology.

We call the programme 774 young Nigerian Scientist patriotic Award. The children from states comes to take examination in Abuja and first 3 of them, Mr President will have a have a handshake with them and give them scholarship to study in any area of science they like up to PHD level. In the ministry we ask people ‘’what can you do’’ or what have you invented or research on, come with it let the entire whole world see you.

 

 

 

Highlight of Episode 102 of the SERVICOM Help Desk Radio Programme

The Episode 102 of the SERVICOM help desk Radio programme Held on the 10th of December 2019. The National Coordinator /Chief Executive of SERVICOM, Mrs Nnenna Akajemeli, appreciated the Brekete Family and the Ordinary president. An issue concerning the massive corruption in the football sporting sector was referred to the NC but she asked the Ordinary President to continue with it since he was handling it well.

There was however no time for SERVICOM to talk due to time constrains and the Ordinary President asked the National Coordinator to come back the next day.